Explosive MTB Season for Gauteng

Following another explosive Spur Schools Mountain Bike Season in Gauteng with more than 80 schools competing for a spot in the national finals, Menlopark High School still reigns supreme.

Defending national champions, Menlopark High School dominated the 2015 Spur Schools Mountain Bike League finals winning the boys, girls and mixed team trophies.

Gauteng has seen an explosive growth both in participating schools and riders and is currently the largest league in the country with close on 3 000 riders competing this season. The top ten schools as well as individual category winners in the Gauteng series presented by Anatomic qualified for the 2016 national finals taking place at Bekker School in Magaliesberg from 8 to 9 October.

Menlopark logged 1162 points for a convincing win with Afrikaans Hoer Seunsskool second with 895 points and Midstream College clinching third place with 743 points.  The balance of the 10 Gauteng schools that qualified for the finals include Transvalia High School (718 points), Waterkloof High School (692 points), Garsfontein High School (617 points), Zwartkop High School (421 points), Montana High School (414 points), Monument High School (372 points) and Centurion High School filling the last slot with 315 points.

Transvalia High School took all three podium positions in the sub-junior girls race with Natalie Long first, Kaylin Gombos second and Ilke Botes in third. Miguel Moutinho form Midstream College took line honours in the boys’s race, with Dian Janjetich of Zwartkop second and Aaron Heyneke of Jeppe Boys in third.

In the youth women 15 years Monique du Toit and Antonque Grotsius of Menlopark took first and third place with Robin Stewart of Waterkloof High School finishing second.  The boys’ race was won by Hennie van Wyk of Garsfontein High School with Matthiam Hofmann of Waterkloof second and DJ Kruger of Transvalia High School in third.

Thana Groenewald  of Midstream College secured a first place in the youth women’s 16 years finals with Rimari Sutton of Garsfontein second and Nicola van der Walt of Menlopark taking third.   Garsfontein High School’s Wicus Breytenbach won the boys’ race, followed by Keagan Bontekoning of Maragon Private School in second and Chris du Plessis of Menlopark in third place.

Wrapping up the day with cutting edge riding was the juniors with Tanya Kotze of Wonderboom High School in first place, Melanie Roux of Afrikaans Hoer Meisieskool in second and Saffron Vosloo of Menlopark in third place in the women’s race.  With less than a minute separating the top three men it was Wessel Botha of Menlopark that secured a win with team mate Henry Liebenberg in third place and Wessel Redelinghuys of Afrikaans Hoer Seunsskool in third.

On Saturday, 8 October more than 60 schools will go head to head with the top 26 riders in each category scoring points for their team in an effort to secure podium positions in the Spur Schools Mountain Bike League National Inter-schools Final.

On Sunday, 9 October schools will team up for the South African Schools Cycling Interprovincial Competition whereby the best 10 results will be tallied to crown the best province. The North West Province is the current defending champion.

The founding sponsor of the League, Spur Steak Ranches has again committed to a bigger and better season offering a R10 000 rand contribution to school teams that win their respective age categories at the National Inter-schools Finals. “Seeing the continued growth of the program is something we as Spur Steak Ranches are very proud of and we decided to offer this bonus to foster healthy competition and promote teamwork between riders and within schools, as well as increase participation across all skill levels and abilities,” said Andrew Cronje, Spur Market Development Manager.

For more information and results visit www.spurmtbleague.co.za and be sure to like the League on Facebook at Spur Schools League and follow @spurMTBleague on Twitter for more information.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *